Sundance 2017 Films I Need Now

The Sundance Film Festival is the first look at what could be the greatest indie films of the year.

Last year it hosted some remarkable talents and critically acclaimed pieces such as Birth of a Nation, TallulahManchester by the Sea, and many more. Some are even available for Netflix streaming if you need to catch up on your films (Tallulah for instance).

This year seemed just as promising with star studded casting as well as gripping summaries. Here are a few of my “must sees” and if they are given a theatrical release I would love to show my support:

Mudbound- starring Mary J. Blige, Carey Mulligan, and Jason Clarke/ Directed by: Dee Rees

Image result for mudbound
A race epic based in 1940’s Mississippi

Little Hours-starring Aubrey Plaza, Dave Franco, Alison Brie, and Molly Shannon/ Directed by: Jeff Baena

Image result for little hours
A comedy about a dysfunctional convent 

Ingrid Goes West- starring Elizabeth Olsen, Aubrey Plaza, and O’Shea Jackson Jr./ Directed by: Matt Spicer

Image result for ingrid goes west
The story of an Instagram stalker gone very wrong

Rebel in the Rye- starring Nicholas Hoult, Kevin Spacey, and Sarah Paulson/ Directed by: Danny Strong

Image result for rebel in the rye
A biographical drama on the early years of J. D Salinger

These are only a few of the films I have been able to scope out via the internet, if you have seen any that I should keep on my radar please let me know! Very excited for a new year of film.

I have recently seen Silence and Split and although they both deserve their own post to really dive into why I enjoyed each piece I’ll just summarize for the sake of my ever fleeting memory.

Silence is beautifully directed, gut wrenching acting, and carries a universal message. I left the theatre asking myself for days “What am I devoted to? What would I suffer for?”.

Split is pause worthy. The amount of twists and turns following the first five minutes of the film make you feel as though you’re watching multiple stories unravel at once. The light shone on D.I.D is raw and eye opening. You’ll laugh, you’ll stare blankly, and you’ll probably never see James McAvoy the same.

Leave a comment